

# **Appendix 15**

# **Centennial Anniversary Committee**

In 2010, Zonta International President 2010–2012 Dianne K. Curtis appointed a Centennial Anniversary Committee (CAC), chaired by Past International President Val Sarah.

# **Centennial History**

The primary early focus of CAC was to create a history of Zonta International to mark the centenary of Zonta International in 2019. The committee therefore planned the work as follows:

- 2010-2012: archives of all Zonta clubs, areas and districts to be found and sorted
- 2012-2014: all Zonta clubs to write their history
- 2014-2016: all Zonta districts to write their history-in-brief (and at length if possible), these district histories to be source material for an author who would be engaged to write the Zonta International Centennial History.

In 2016, at the Zonta International Convention in Nice, it became clear that an author would not be commissioned. However, as a significant amount of material had already been collected, Eva Nielsen, a CAC member since 2010, volunteered to edit the district histories-in-brief.

At this time the CAC had not received histories from all districts and those that had been received varied greatly in length and content. As editor, Eva decided to redefine her work and focus on finding all Zonta clubs ever chartered. In her view, each club was important and deserved to be acknowledged as part of Zonta's centennial anniversary celebrations. She was able to locate almost all of the 1995 clubs ever established by Zonta.

In 2018, the first drafts were forwarded to districts for review, and discussions continued at Zonta International about publication of the final collection. In June 2019, updated drafts were sent to all clubs, with an opportunity to provide corrections and additions, and from November, the final draft was developed in collaboration with Headquarters staff and Past International

Director, Judith Anderson. After one final opportunity for districts and clubs to make changes, the collection was launched on the Zonta International website in early 2020.

### **Centennial Events and Awards**

As the centenary approached, activities in addition to the history project were introduced. A group from the committee, led by Tebbie Clift, developed the criteria for the Centennial Anniversary Awards for clubs, districts and countries. The group also liaised with District Centennial Anniversary Co-ordinators about activities in their clubs and districts.

## Members of the Centennial Anniversary Committee (2010-2020)

(Members are listed alphabetically after the Chairman and Vice-chairman or Co-chairmen)

#### **2010–2012**<sup>1</sup>.

- PIP Val Sarah (Chairman)
- Ronda Walker (Vice-chairman)
- Katie Beer
- Amy Lai
- Beryl McMillan (liaison Zonta International Board)
- A.O. Omotayo (Tayo) Morgan
- Eva Nielsen
- Ex officio: International President Diane Curtis and President-Elect, Lynn McKenzie

#### **2012–2014**<sup>2</sup>

- PIP Val Sarah (Chairman)
- Ronda Walker (Vice-chairman)
- Nickie Bonner
- Vivian Cody
- Amy Lai
- Beryl McMillan
- A.O. Omotayo (Tayo) Morgan
- Eva Nielsen

#### 2014-2016<sup>3</sup>

- PIP Val Sarah (Chairman)
- Beryl McMillan (Co-chairman Events and Awards)
- Nickie Bonner
- Vivian Cody
- Joan Hull
- Amy Lai
- A.O. Omotayo (Tayo) Morgan
- Eva Nielsen
- Erlinda Panlilio

<sup>2</sup> The Zontian, July 2012

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> CAC Newsletter Nov 2010

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>3</sup> The Zontian, Sept 2014

#### 2016-2018

- Beryl McMillan (Chairman)
- Tebbie Clift (Co-chairman Events and Awards)
- PIP Val Sarah (Co-chairman History)
- Vivian Cody
- Monica de la Cerda (events and awards)
- Christine Gerberding (events and awards)
- Amy Lai
- A.O. Omotayo (Tayo) Morgan
- Eva Nielsen
- Erlinda Panlilio
- Brenda Tanjutco<sup>4</sup>

## 2018-2020

- Beryl McMillan (Chairman, liaison Australia and New Zealand)
- Vivian Cody
- Amy Lai
- A.O. Omotayo (Tayo) Morgan
- Eva Nielsen
- Erlinda Panlilio
- Mary Ann Rubis (liaison North and South America)
- PIP Val Sarah
- Maria Stefanova (liaison Europe and Africa)
- Hsin-Hsin Yang (liaison Asia)

# Members of the CAC History Group

During the decade for which the CAC operated, a group emerged whose particular focus was the history of Zonta International and its districts. Amy Lai, A.O. Omatayo Morgan, Eva Nielsen and PIP Val Sarah were members of the group from the outset and continued their involvement throughout the decade to 2020. They were joined in the 2012–2014 biennium by Vivian Cody, and from 2014 by Erlinda Panlilio, both of whom continued their commitment to the group. In addition, Nickie Bonner and Joan Hall contributed to the project in the 2014-2016 biennium and the work of the group was actively supported from 2016 by Beryl McMillan as Chairman.

## Members of the CAC Awards and Events Group

International President Sonja Hönig-Schough (2016–2018) appointed a group to focus on awards and events during the Centennial Anniversary year. Tebbie Clift was appointed CAC Co-chairman for the new group while PIP Val Sarah became Co-chairman of the history group, with Beryl McMillan as Centennial Anniversary Committee Chairman.

# Members of the CAC Liaison Group

In 2018-2020, International President Susanne von Bassewitz added three members to the committee to serve as liaisons to districts in different geographic zones. In addition to serving as Chairman, Beryl McMillan acted as liaison to her home region (Australia and New Zealand).

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>4</sup> The Zontian, October 2016

Mary Ann Rubis was appointed liaison for North and South America, Maria Stefanova for Europe and Africa, and Hsin-Hsin Yang for Asia.

While the role of the 2018-2020 liaisons was to deal with all Centennial matters except the history, they were copied into all communications about the history project and provided valuable support in communicating with governors and pursuing history enquiries in their allocated zones.