Emma L. Conlon Service Award

The Emma L. Conlon Service Award recognizes those Z and Golden Z clubs whose projects and programs best express the ideals of Zonta International to empower women through local and international service and advocacy. The awards, named in honor of Past International President Emma L. Conlon, who graciously underwrote the awards, were established in 1961 at the Zonta International Convention in New Orleans, Louisiana, USA.

First, second and third place awards are given to both Z and Golden Z clubs. First place clubs receive US$1,000; second place clubs receive US$500; and third place clubs receive US$250. An additional award of US$250 is awarded to one Z club and one Golden Z club that have been chartered for less than two years. The award money is to be used for the clubs' service projects.


Z and Golden Z clubs must submit one service project in any of the three categories listed below.

  • School Service
  • Community Service
  • International Service

Application Process

Z and Golden Z club members will submit their applications, which include the signature of their sponsoring Zonta club president, to Zonta International Headquarters. The Zonta International Z and Golden Z Club Committee recommends eight recipients (4 Z clubs and 4 Golden Z clubs) to the Zonta International Board for approval in June.

2020 Deadline

All application materials must be received by 30 April 2020. Applications that are incomplete or late due to postal delays, transmittal by third parties, or other circumstances will not be considered. Submit a completed application to:

Zonta International Headquarters
Attn: Martina Gamboa, Programs Senior Coordinator
1200 Harger Road
Suite 330
Oak Brook, Illinois 60523

or via email to programs@zonta.org




Application materials are now available for the 2019 Emma L. Conlon Service Award.

Learn about the projects the 2018 Emma L. Conlon Service Award winners completed in their schools and communities.
Zonta is proud to announce the eight winners of the 2018 Emma L. Conlon Service Award.