Amelia Earhart Fellowship

According to Women in Aerospace, in 2010, roughly 10 percent of the aerospace industry was made up of women. While the number has slowly increased, there must be reinforcements behind each step forward. To assist the future of women in this field and other aerospace-related sciences and engineering, Zonta International established the Amelia Earhart Fellowship in 1938 in honor of legendary pilot and Zontian, Amelia Earhart. Today, the Fellowship of US$10,000 is awarded annually to up to 30 talented women, pursuing Ph.D./doctoral degrees in aerospace-related sciences or aerospace-related engineering around the globe.

Women of any nationality pursuing a Ph.D./doctoral degree, who demonstrate a superior academic record in the field of aerospace-related sciences or aerospace-related engineering, are eligible and encouraged to apply. For a full list of the eligibility and application requirements, please refer to the application.

Since the program’s inception in 1938, Zonta has awarded 1,573 Amelia Earhart Fellowships, totaling more than US$10 million, to 1,144 women representing 73 countries.

These fellowships are made possible through generous donations to the Zonta International Foundation.

Applications for 2019 are now closed. The application for the 2020 cycle will be available mid-July 2019.

Learn more.

2018 Amelia Earhart Fellows

Name of Applicant Dual/Country of Citizenship Proposed School Field of Study
Federica Angeletti Italy La Sapienza, University of Rome Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering
Mary Bastawrous Egypt University of Colorado Boulder Aerospace Engineering Sciences/Structures
Helena Bates United Kingdom Natural History Museum/University of Oxford Planetary Sciences
Ines Belgacem France and Tunisia Université Paris Sud/GEOPS Planetary Sciences
Garima Bhatia
India University of Alabama in Huntsville Industrial and Systems Engineering
Nisha Chandramoorthy India Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT) Mechanical Engineering/Computational Science
Demet Cilden-Guler Turkey
Istanbul Technical University Aeronautical and Astronautical Engineering
Laura Cordes Germany
Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT) Thermal Turbomachinery
Ashwati Das Australia
Purdue University Astrodynamics, Aerospace Engineering
Berivan Esen Turkey and United Kingdom
University of Leicester Planetary Sciences and Physical Geography
Alison Mary Ferris USA and United Kingdom Stanford University Mechanical Engineering
Carolina Furtado Pereira da Silva Portugal
Universidade do Porto Mechanical Engineering
Selenia Ghio Italy
Universitá di Pisa Information Engineering
Emily Rae Gleeson Canada
Ryerson University Aerospace Engineering
Michela Gramola
Italy Imperial College London Aeronautics
Carla Grobler
South Africa and Netherlands Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT) Aeronautics and Astronautics
Srishti Kashyap
India University of Massachusetts Amherst Microbiology and Planetary Sciences
Deliya Kim
Kazakhstan Lehigh University Mechanical Engineering
Akshata Krishnamurthy
India Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT) Aeronautics and Astronautics
Lucia Mascotelli
Italy Universitá di Bologna Aerospace Engineering
Clara Maurel
France Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT) Planetary Sciences
Sarah Elizabeth Morris
Australia and Canada Cornell University Mechanical Engineering
Sindhu Paramasivam India Nanyang Technological University (NTU) Aerospace Engineering
Paige Katherine Rabey
United Kingdom Imperial College London Aeronautics
Zeinab Shadram
Iran University of California, Irvine Aerospace Engineering
Yi Hui Tee
Malaysia University of Minnesota, Twin Cities Aerospace Engineering
Jacqueline Leah Thomas
USA Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT) Aerospace Engineering
Kirsten Elizabeth Tuggle
USA The University of Texas at Austin Aerospace Engineering
Doga Yucalan
Turkey Cornell University Aerospace Engineering
Meihua Zhang
China, PR University of Kansas Aerospace Engineering





Zonta International is pleased to share the bios of the recipients of the 2018 Amelia Earhart (AE) Fellowships.
We are proud to announce the 2018 Amelia Earhart Fellows. These 30 exceptional women pursuing Ph.D./doctoral degrees in aerospace-related sciences or...
The 2018 AE Fellowship application is due to Zonta International Headquarters on 15 November.