Zonta Club of Hilo members and guests with five 2022 scholarship recipients (seated L-R): Lindsay Emerson, Denby Nagata, Lehia Coloma, Mia Tulang and Misty Cruden.

Zonta Club of Hilo awards US$15,000 in scholarships

"The Zonta Club of Hilo, USA, is pleased to award US$15,000 in scholarships [earlier this year]," said Scholarship Chair Nina Buchanan.


The club awarded its Women's Nursing Degree Scholarships to six recipients this year, each receiving US$1,000:

  • Franchesca Campbell from Hawai'i Community College.
  • Allison Enomoto from Hawai'i Community College.
  • Alyssa Faletoi from the University of Hawai'i at Hilo.
  • Rachael Meisner from Hawai'i Community College.
  • Darah Olaso from the University of Hawai'i at Hilo.
  • Ashley Rynkewicz from the University of Hawai'i at Hilo.


This year, the club established its Barbra An Pleadwell Scholarship, which is offered to local students currently enrolled in full-time universities or high school seniors pursuing a degree in women's studies or communications. The club proudly presents Harmony Ahin-Ganir as the scholarship's first recipient, who acquired US$5,000.


The 2022 Jane M. Klausman (JMK) Women in Business Scholarship club recipient was Lindsey Emerson, who won US$1,400.


The club announced three Young Women in Public Affairs (YWPA) Award recipients: 

  • Denby Nagata, who received US$1,200.
  • Lehia Coloma, who received US$1,000.
  • Misty Cruden, who received US$500.
  • Mia Tulang, who received $300.


"Thank you so much for your generosity and kindness," read Denby's thank you card. "Your donation will help my family and me greatly in covering the cost of tuition. I will push myself and do my best to make you all proud."


Lindsey and Denby, the top winners in the JMK and YWPA categories, have advanced from the club level to compete for additional awards and scholarships at the district and international levels of Zonta.