Amelia Earhart Fellowship

According to Women in Aerospace, in 2010, roughly 10 percent of the aerospace industry was made up of women. While the number has slowly increased, there must be reinforcements behind each step forward. To assist the future of women in this field and other aerospace-related sciences and engineering, Zonta International established the Amelia Earhart Fellowship in 1938 in honor of legendary pilot and Zontian, Amelia Earhart. Today, the Fellowship of US$10,000 is awarded annually to up to 30 talented women, pursuing Ph.D./doctoral degrees in aerospace-related sciences or aerospace-related engineering around the globe.

Women of any nationality pursuing a Ph.D./doctoral degree, who demonstrate a superior academic record in the field of aerospace-related sciences or aerospace-related engineering, are eligible and encouraged to apply. For a full list of the eligibility and application requirements, please refer to the application.

Since the program’s inception, Zonta International has awarded 1,543 Amelia Earhart Fellowships, totaling more than US$9.7 million, to 1,114 women from 72 countries.

These fellowships are made possible through generous donations to the Zonta International Foundation.

Learn more.

2017 Amelia Earhart Fellows

Name of Applicant Dual/Country of Citizenship Proposed School Field of Study
Kinga Albert Romania & Hungary Technical University of Braunschweig Electrical Engineering
Amrita Basak India Georgia Institute of Technology Mechanical Engineering
Alejandra Castellanos Mexico University of Texas at El Paso Mechanical Engineering
Anne Collin France Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT) Aeronautics
Maria del Mar Cols Margenet
Spain University of Colorado Boulder Aerospace Engineering
Francesca De Domenico Italy University of Cambridge Aerospace Engineering
Guangfei Duan PR China University of California, Irvine Aerospace Engineering
JoAnna Fulton USA University of Colorado Boulder Aerospace Engineering Sciences
Dafne Gaviria Arcila Mexico & Colombia University of Nottingham Mechanical Engineering
Audrey Gaymann France Imperial College London Aerospace Engineering
Garazi Gomez de Segura Spain University of Cambridge Engineering/Fluid Dynamics
Arshiya Hoseyni Chime
Iran University of Washington, Seattle Mechanical Engineering
Revathi Jambunathan India University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign Aerospace Engineering
Diana Juarez Madera USA Stanford University Aeronautics and Astronautics
A Ram Kim South Korea University of Kansas Aerospace Engineering
Hyunryung Kim
South Korea University of Washington Aerospace Engineering
Christine Klei-Wichmann
Germany Aachen University, Institute of Aerospace Systems: Rhein-Westf. Technology Hochschule
Mechanical Engineering
Jooyoung Lee
South Korea Purdue University Aeronautics/Astronautics
Marie McBride USA Purdue University Planetary Sciences
Catherine Miller USA Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT) Aeronautics and Astronomy
Mallory Neet USA California Institute of Technology Aerospace Engineering
Rita Neves
Portugal Cranfield University Aerospace Engineering
Tam Nguyen USA Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT) Aeronautics and Astronautics
Sravya Nimmagadda
India Stanford University Aeronautics and Astronautics
Erika Palmerio
Italy University of Helsinki Space Physics
Tanja Pelzmann Austria Ecole Polytechnique de Montreal
Mechanical Engineering
Sara Port
USA University of Arkansas Space and Planetary Sciences
Narindra Ranaivomiarana Madagascar Pierre and Marie Curie University, Paris
Maryam Sadeghi Reineh
Iran University of California, Irvine Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering
Tina Stäbler Germany German Aerospace Center (DLR) Aerospace Engineering
Sharanya Subramaniam India University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign  Mechanical Engineering
Anna Thomas USA Stanford University Aeronautics and Astronautics
Anastasiia Volkova
Ukraine University of Sydney Aerospace Engineering
Aslihan Vuruskan
Turkey Missouri University of Science and Technology Aerospace Engineering
Alexandra Wander
Germany Bundeswehr University Munchen Space Technology





The application and other materials, such as a poster and sample news releases, are now available for the 2018 Amelia Earhart Fellowship.
Zonta International is proud to announce the 2017 Amelia Earhart Fellowships recipients.
Interested in applying for the Amelia Earhart Fellowship or know someone who may be eligible? The deadline for the 2017 Fellowship is 15 November.